Crystal Jade

18 Oct

My friends have told me about this heavenly dumpling: Xiao Long Bao. I had to wrap my tongue around this. I had to try it for myself. Descriptions of what it was did not cut it for me. And I wasn’t going to go to Din Tai Fung in Taiwan or Singapore anytime soon so I had to find the next best thing.

The way I understood Xiao Long Bao was that it was a heavenly dumpling that once your teeth puncture into that oh-so-delicate dough, a flood of that flavorful soup washes all your worries away. Who wouldn’t want to have that for just a few seconds in their life, right? So just imagine my delight when my friend Jenn told me that Crystal Jade in Greenhills had recently opened.

I was told to expect long lines but we got there at about 12:00 noon. Aby, my sister-in-law was able to sweet talk her way into getting a table before the whole party arrived. (Kudos to Aby!) So when we got there 2 bamboo baskets were already waiting for us, ready to be devoured. And devoured it, we did! Each basket comes with 5 pieces of dumpling. We practically had a basket of it each. (Actually, we did have a basket of it each!)

Always remember to nest the dumpling on a soup spoon to catch all that oozing glory!

We also ordered the Noodle with Spicy Chicken which was also good but it did not live up much to its name ‘Spicy Chicken’.

Going to Crystal Jade is a treat but only for the Xiao Long Bao. Everything else was ‘Blah’. I recommend ordering 2 bamboo baskets of Xiao Long Bao each and a glass of their Iced Honey Lemon. Nothing less, nothing more.

I tried my best to describe what Xiao Long Bao is but I suggest that you read Jaden’s (from Steamy Kitchen) post on her blog http://steamykitchen.com/88-xiao-long-bao-shanghai-steamed-soup-dumplings.html, there is absolutely no way I could compete on how she talks about it plus she has a recipe too. I’ll definitely leave that recipe to the professionals.

Crystal Jade La Mian Xiao Long Bao
Address:  Unit 117-121 Ground floor, Virra Mall, Greenhills Shopping Center, Greenhills, San Juan City 1502
Phone Number:  570-6912 ; 570-6910
Operating Hours: 11am – 2:30pm ; 5pm – 930pm
www.CrystalJade.com

One Response to “Crystal Jade”

  1. Melanie Nyman May 20, 2012 at 12:03 am #

    However the thin crispy skin is very yummy and sinful and I prefer to eat it alone without the flour skin and cucumber strips.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 746 other followers

